online art gallery
collection 06
05.12.2022 → 05.02.2023

catherine satterlee (US)

Form meets function in Catherine Satterlee’s hand-crafted pieces. Her geometrical vases are one-of-a-kind. Colorful ornaments and inlays are embedded onto their surfaces. The pictorial legacy that guides her current work in ceramics can be credited to her background as a painter. Her rich and disparate influences include subway air vents, Allan McCollum’s installation, Plaster Surrogates, a utility cover in a Tokyo street, etc. She returns from trips with countless pictures of surfaces, all of which contribute to the forms and designs that inspire her creations. Satterlee's production process is deliberately long because she employs techniques that can only be used in work made by hand. This practice has an element of surprise and favors the unexpected thereby exposing voluntary or involuntary distortions to the medium. By playing with glazed or rough surfaces, she draws out the stoneware's raw essence and texture. For this collection, the gallery has selected pieces decorated with floral, geometric and abstract patterns.

Catherine Satterlee is an American artist who lives and works in Washington. She was introduced to ceramics at Bennington College in the late 1960s by artist Stanley Rosen. Her multidisciplinary professional and artistic career lies between contemporary art, design, graphic design and painting. Catherine Satterlee has been in charge of exhibitions for renowned museum institutions: the Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden in Washington, and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Arlington. After working ceramics intermittently for a long time, she decided in 2015 to devote herself entirely to this medium. Since then, she has participated in numerous exhibitions and won several prizes. In the spring of 2021, she wrote the article "Japan In Mind" for Pottery Making Illustrated magazine.

louka butzbach (FR)

Wistful and dreamy, the characters in Louka Butzbach’s drawings often look out into the distance, lost in thought or contemplating time. Sometimes pensive, sometimes serene, they elegantly wander through verdant landscapes caressing nature and its elements with their long, thin fingers. Butzbach seeks to work in harmony with nature and, as such, surrenders to its bucolic poetry from which stories form. Sauntering and frolicking, the protagonists' androgynous silhouettes can be observed enjoying every bit of their impromptu adventures. They explore places full of warmth and light where lush vegetation can flourish unhindered. They lean against spongy mushrooms to read or run through hills that are defined as precisely as they would be on a relief map. They are on a quest for rare specimens of rocks or plants and their ardent curiosity seems inexhaustible. Butzbach’s art can be characterized as a delicate balancing act transforming each escapade into a thought that can be illustrated and admired. Through his stories, he takes the viewer on discerning, yet subtle, literary strolls. The beauty of his watercolors magnifies the candor characteristic in his writing. A romantic form of theatre is at play here with whimsy as its only through line. Geoff Vallon, ÉLÉGIE EN BLEU

Louka Butzbach was born in 1995 and grew up in Fontenay-sous-Bois. He studied illustration at the Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR) in Strasbourg and now lives in Marseille. He published his first comic book «·Whistle·» with Breakdown Press (2020) and Fulgencio Pimentel (2022) and worked several times with Lagon Revue. He also practices self-publishing in the collective Art Majeur, founded with Paul Descamps and Thomas Simon. Recently, he published with the editor Super-Structure « La pièce imaginaire », a book from which some originals are presented as part of this exhibition.

galerie d'art en ligne
collection 06
05.12.2022 → 05.02.2023

catherine satterlee (US)

À la fois fonctionnelle et sculpturale, chacune des pièces façonnée par la main de Catherine Satterlee est unique. Ornements colorés et empiècements variés se déclinent à la surface de ses vases à la forme géométrique. Son travail de céramiste est enrichi d’un héritage pictural certain, conféré par son passé de peintre. Ses inspirations sont multiples : une bouche d’aération dans le métro, l’installation Plaster Surrogates de l’artiste Allan McCollum, une couverture utilitaire dans une rue de Tokyo, etc. Lors de ses voyages, elle capture d’innombrables photos de surfaces. Autant d’éléments qui infuseront ses futures formes et motifs, inspirations premières pour la création d’une œuvre. L’artiste privilégie des techniques de mise en forme et de construction manuelles, qui lui permettent d’apprécier un rythme de production délibérément long. Ce processus favorise l’inattendu, les surprises que peuvent réserver les distorsions volontaires ou involontaires de la matière. En jouant avec les surfaces émaillées ou rugueuses, Catherine Satterlee révèle l’essence brute du grès. Pour cette exposition, la galerie a choisi de mettre l’accent sur une sélection de pièces sublimées tour à tour de motifs floraux, géométriques, ou abstraits.

Catherine Satterlee est une artiste américaine qui vit et travaille à Washington. Elle a été initiée à la céramique au Bennington College à la fin des années 60 par l’artiste Stanley Rosen. Sa carrière professionnelle et artistique pluridisciplinaire se situe entre l’art contemporain, le design, le graphisme et la peinture. Catherine Satterlee a été chargée des expositions pour des institutions muséales de renoms : le Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden à Washington, et le Museum of Contemporary Art d’Arlington. Après avoir longtemps travaillé la céramique par intermittence, elle décide en 2015 de se consacrer entièrement à ce médium. Depuis, elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions et remporté plusieurs prix. Au printemps 2021, elle écrit l’article « Japan In Mind » pour le magazine Pottery Making Illustrated.

louka butzbach (FR)

Songeurs, rêveurs, les personnages qui occupent les dessins de Louka Butzbach ont souvent le regard tourné vers un ailleurs, plongés dans leur imaginaire ou à contempler le temps. Tantôt mélancoliques, tantôt placides, ils déambulent avec élégance, caressant de leurs longs doigts fins la nature et ses éléments. Toujours soucieux d’œuvrer en harmonie avec elle, l’artiste s’adonne à la poésie bucolique pour narrer leurs récits. Entre promenades et cabrioles, les silhouettes androgynes de ses protagonistes se déploient merveilleusement pour saisir toute l’essence de leurs aventures improvisées. Ils explorent des environnements chamarrés, où la végétation foisonnante ne bute sur aucune contrainte pour proliférer. Adossés à des champignons spongieux pour lire ou parcourant des monts aux reliefs acérés en quête de rares spécimens de rocailles ou de végétaux, leur fougueuse curiosité semble inépuisable. La grâce funambule de l’art de Louka Butzbach fait de chacune de ces péripéties, une pensée illustrée à admirer. Il revendique une forme de flânerie littéraire, sensible et délicate pour façonner ses histoires. La beauté de ses aquarelles magnifie toute la candeur dont il fait preuve dans son écriture. C’est un théâtre romantique qui se joue ici, avec comme seul fil conducteur, la fantaisie. Geoff Vallon, ÉLÉGIE EN BLEU

Louka Butzbach est né en 1995 et a grandi à Fontenay-sous-Bois. Après avoir étudié l’illustration à la Haute École des Arts du Rhin (HEAR) à Strasbourg, il vit désormais à Marseille. Il a publié sa première bande dessinée “Whistle” chez Breakdown Press (2020) et Fulgencio Pimentel (2022), et a collaboré à plusieurs reprises avec la revue Lagon. Il pratique également l’auto-édition dans le collectif Art Majeur, fondé avec Paul Descamps et Thomas Simon. Récemment, il a publié avec l’éditeur Super-Structure l’ouvrage « La pièce imaginaire » dont plusieurs originaux sont présentés dans le cadre de cette exposition.